Beauty: Birchbox January 2016 Review

birchbox january 2016 review

It’s time for another Birchbox review, the first one of 2016! In case you aren’t aware of Birchbox, it is a monthly subscription beauty box filled with samples and some full size beauty products. I love beauty boxes as let’s face it, it’s not often the postman brings you something nice, it’s usually bills and takeaway flyers in my house.

Every Birchbox has a theme and this month it was a Pinterest theme, for your ‘Best Year Ever!’

If you want to see what I got in the January 2016 Birchbox, read on!

birchbox january 2016 review

Cryotherapy UK

birchbox january 2016 review

Benefit – They’re Real Tinted Primer

I LOVE getting Benefit products in Birchboxes. Benefit make up is amazing, their products really work and samples actually last me ages. I am a huge mascara fan but I’ve never tried a mascara primer before.

I’ve given this tinted primer a go and it’s a lovely product. The primer is a dark brown colour so it can be used as a primer or worn alone for a more natural look. It made my lashes look really defined, long and separated them well without being clumpy at all. It’s also really soft, so I can see myself using this in the summer months or on holiday when I want to wear minimum make up but still have beautiful lashes.

Jelly Pong Pong – Lighten Up Brightener + Waterliner *FULL SIZE*

Ooh I do love a full sized product. This brightening eyeliner is worth £14.99 so is more expensive than the box itself! You can use this product on your inner eyelids or your brow line to brighten up your complexion without any shimmer. You can also use this on your cheekbones like you would a highlighter, for a more subtle glow. I’m really happy to have this as I would never have bought it myself, and it’s really useful! I love any kind of highlighter, it’s my new ‘thang’.

Sorry for saying ‘thang’.

Crabtree & Evelyn – La Source Ultra-Moisturising Hand Therapy

I’ve been familiar with this brand a while but I’ve never owned any of their products. This is a high quality hydrating hand cream that smells lovely.

Parlor – Moisturising & Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner

I was SO HAPPY to receive some shampoo in this month’s box. I literally ran out of shampoo the morning I got the box so it was really handy! I’ve used this twice and my hair feels wonderful. My hair is so soft I imagine this is what unicorn hair feels like. OMG I have unicorn hair.

Unfortunately the shampoo costs £16 for a full sized bottle and I am pretty sure I can’t justify paying that… but so soft. I spent a lot of today just stroking my hair. It also smells gorgeous the day after (scents of ‘ripe peach and freshly-cut grass).

Birchbox has seriously increased my monthly beauty budget. I WANT TO BUY IT ALL. Anyway, on with the review!

Absolution – L’Eau Soir et Matin

This is a cleansing water that honestly smells of gin. I am in no way saying that is a bad thing. You know when you use a facial skincare products and you can just tell it’s working? It leaves skin feeling really clean, but the gin smell makes it feel like a serious no-nonsense product. Also it looks like it might be French and I am a sucker for anything French!

Bonus gift: Birchbox – Compact Mirror and Postcards

Birchbox often gives extra little gifts in their boxes, which is one of the reasons I prefer it to other beauty box brands. In this box I recieved a cute little compact mirror and some lovely postcards full of gorgeous illustrations.

Overall I am really impressed with this box. The Benefit products just keep on coming and I really like the full sized highlighter pencil. I’ve almost used all of the shampoo and the cleansing water, and the conditioner is long gone so I have definitely got value for my money. This is my third Birchbox and I have been very happy with every box so far.

Do you like the look of the Birchbox January 2016 box?

Take a look at my reviews for the November 2015 Birchbox and the December 2015 Birchbox.

sig

TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’

  • I got this box too but with some different products! Glad you liked it too!

    Zoe x | http://www.zoelinda.co.uk

    • Carolanne K Minter

      I used to get Glossybox, so glad I switched over xx

  • Rae

    I wish we had birchbox in Australia D:

    • Carolanne K Minter

      Do you have any beauty subscription boxes in Australia?

      • Rae

        We do but Birchbox seems to have better quality products. Australia will catch up eventually I’m sure

  • I love Birchbox – this one looks particularly good! Sophie xx
    http://www.fashionnomads.com

  • Hana

    I unsubscribed to Birchbox ages ago but they seem to be having good boxes recently! The They’re Real primer looks really good and I’m loving the look of that mirror 🙂

    Hana | http://www.hanarosella.blogspxot.co.uk