Book Review: The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen is the latest psychological thriller to hit bookshops from publishing superstars Pan Macmillan, perfect for fans of The Girl On The Train and Gone Girl.

Domestic noir thrillers are incredibly popular and the interest in the genre shows no sign of abating; therefore it is important for titles to stand out in such a saturated market. Since the incredible success of The Girl On The Train, many copycat books have surfaced, leading the genre to suffer with predictability and a sense of deja vu.

What makes The Wife Between Us any different then? Well, it’s the twist. I have to admit I really did not see it coming and it was refreshing to find myself excited to keep turning the pages, with no idea what might happen next.

You’ll recognise characters from other books you’ve read, and like the marketing team point out, you’ll make many assumptions about the characters that may turn out to be wrong. It feels as though the writers are aware that there is room for the genre to be turned on its head: we meet the crazy alcoholic ex wife, the stunning young replacement and the strong, caring husband driven away by the woman he once loved. You’ll think you’ve read this story a hundred times, but you’ll be wrong.

The book is published on 8th February 2018 yet the film rights have already been sold to the creators of The Girl On The Train – something tells me this debut is going to be a big hit.

If you are a fan of psycholigical thrillers then I highly recommend picking this up – everyone is going to be talking about it, don’t be left out!

Use #OMGthatTwist to discuss the book on social media – I can’t wait to hear what you think!

Drink Pairing

This book is perfect for drinking with a classic gin cocktail with a minty twist! You can find the recipe for this refreshing drink here.

*I was sent a review copy of The Wife Between Us for an honest review and all thoughts my own. Actual cover may differ as one pictured is a proof*

  • Maria Kelly

    Love the review – but adore the added cocktail!! Brilliant x

    • Haha thank you! Always good to pair your book with a drink 😛 xx

  • Nicola Bromley

    I really need to start reading more interesting books. I’m a lover of chick lit but this sounds great…it might be time to expand my horizons!!

    • I think this kind of book is perfect for chick lit lovers who want something a little more dramatic and exciting – and it’s an easy read. xx

  • momoftwolittlegirls

    haha … I have never heard of a book & alcohol pairing before! Love it!

  • The_tale_of_mummyhood

    I’m always looking for books to add to my reading list, I’m aiming for one book a month during 2018 xx

    • That’s a good resolution to have, let me know if you read this xx

  • Oh I love reading this kind of thing before bed, great to switch off with! xx